“I am privileged to be the Chair of judges for NCOTY. It’s a competition that has been won by so many talented chefs, has an incredible panel of judges, and receives fantastic support from media, sponsors and partners. I’ll be working with the Craft Guild of Chefs to find new and exciting ways to drive this event forward, whilst ensuring that culinary skills continue to be at the heart of every stage of the competition. It’s this skills focus which make the NCOTY title so credible, and one that so many chefs across the UK aspire to win.”

Chair Of Judges, Gary Jones

“It’s great to have so many fantastic chefs entering and whilst we’ve had some fantastic finals, 2015 was exceptionally high in standard and I think this really was the best ever. I want to encourage chefs from all sectors to take part as it is a great platform to get your name out there”

Clare Smyth MBE, chairman of judges and chef patron at three Michelin-starred Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

“The Craft Guild has put together an exemplary competition, which progresses with the times and requires truly talented chefs to enter in order to do it justice. For those who do, the rewards are immense.”

Philip Howard, proprietor of the two Michelin-starred The Square Restaurant

“The Craft Guild of Chefs National Chef of the Year competition has yielded winners which include some of the UK’s leading chefs over its 40 year history. As a sponsor you are demonstrating your commitment to the sustainable future of the most prestigious and sought after competition title in the UK today.”

David Mulcahy, competition director and vice president Craft Guild of Chefs


Judging panels over the past few years have included the likes of Philip Howard, Tom Kerridge, Atul Kochhar, Andrew Pern, Cyrus Todiwala, Angela Hartnett, Mark Sargeant, Frederick Forster, John Campbell, Monica Galetti, Vivek Singh, Bruce Poole, Simon Hulstone, Gary Jones, Graham Hornigold, Paul Gayler, Gary Hunter, Henry Harris, Clare Smyth, Jason Atherton, Marcus Wareing, Julie Walsh, Hideko Kawa, Brett Graham, Bruce Poole, Lisa Goodwin-Allen amongst others.


In Partnership With

Supported By

previous arrow
next arrow