The Craft Guild of Chefs reveals its expert panel of judges for NCOTY & YNCOTY

The judging panel of National Chef of the Year is always one of the biggest talking points of the competition. We are delighted to reveal who will be judging in the finals on the 1st of October at The Restaurant Show.

For the third year running, the senior competition judging is being led by Gary Jones, executive head chef at Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons.  He said “I am privileged to be the Chair of judges for NCOTY. It’s a competition that has been won by so many talented chefs, has an incredible panel of judges, and receives fantastic support from media, sponsors and partners. I’ll be working with the Craft Guild of Chefs to find new and exciting ways to drive this event forward, whilst ensuring that culinary skills continue to be at the heart of every stage of the competition. It’s this skills focus which makes the NCOTY title so credible, and one that so many chefs across the UK aspire to win.”

Joining Gary Jones on the judging panel will be: -

  • Sat Bains, chef patron, Restaurant Sat Bains
  • Simon Hulstone, chef patron at The Elephant Restaurant
  • Frederick Forster, head chef at SOW Restaurants
  • William Curley, Pâtissier-Chocolatier at William Curley Ltd
  • Stephen Terry, Restaurateur at The Hardwick Arms
  • Clare Smyth, Chef/Owner at Core by Clare Smyth
  • Claude Bosi, Bibendum restaurant in Chelsea
  • Jonny Lake, chef patron, Trivet Restaurant
  • Mark Birchall, chef director for Moor Hall Restaurant with Rooms
  • James 'Jocky' Petrie who is group executive development chef at Gordon Ramsay Group
  • Philip Howard, chef patron at Elystan Street
  • Ollie Dabbous, chef and founder of Hide
  • Lisa Goodwin-Allen, executive head chef at Northcote Manor
  • Graham Hornigold, director of Smart Patisserie
  • Eric Lanyard, master pâtissier
  • Mark Flanagan from the Royal Household, Royal Chef and assistant to the Master of the Household (catering)
  • Daniel Galmiche, chef patron, Pot Kiln
  • Alyn Williams, head chef at Alyn Williams at The Westbury, London

Earlier this year, we announced that Hrishikesh Desai, executive chef/food and beverage manager at Gilpin Hotel and Lake House was taking on the role of chair of judges for The Young National Chef of the Year competition. For this year’s final he will be assisted by the following chefs in finding the next winner: -  

  • Alyn Williams, head chef at Alyn Williams at The Westbury, London
  • Sarah Hartnett , pastry chef
  • Julie Walsh, head pastry chef lecturer at Le Cordon Bleu
  • Russell Bateman, head chef for Petrus and former winner of National Chef of the Year
  • Lee Westcott, chef-owner of Pensons
  • Daniel Galmiche, chef patron, Pot Kiln
  • Luke Selby former Young National Chef of the Year and National Chef of the Year winner
  • Hayden Groves, executive chef at BaxterStorey and former National Chef of the Year winner
  • Chantelle Nicholson who is the chef patron at Tredwells
  • Kuba Winkowski, our current National Chef of the Year winner.

We’ll be revealing who is the winner of these competitions live on social media on Tuesday 1st October. If you aren’t able to join us at the show, then make sure you are watching the Twitter feed.

In Partnership With

Supported By

previous arrow
next arrow