Who must the National Chef of the Year finalists impress to take the title?

It’s only one month until we discover one of the biggest questions in hospitality - who is the next National Chef of the Year?

Before that important day, there are some key events that need to happen, mainly the planning of the menus which will begin on Tuesday (5th September) as the mystery basket is uncovered.

The big reveal of the National Chef of the Year judges is also a hugely anticipated affair and it’s that time of year when we can officially announce them. Our NCOTY judges play a vital role in helping discover who will be one of the biggest names in the industry during 2018. All the judges freely give up their time to check out the culinary talent and help make the competition the success that it is today.

For our competitors, the judges are one of the main reasons they enter NCOTY. To have their food critiqued by such respected chefs really does help define the finalists’ careers, whether they win or lose. The judges will be chaired by, Gary Jones from Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons

Joining Gary on the judging panel next month are over 20 chefs including:

  • Clare Smyth
  • Philip Howard
  • Andrew Pern
  • Mark Flanagan
  • Glynn Purnell
  • Dan Doherty
  • Benoit Blin MCA
  • Sat Bains
  • Simon Hulstone
  • Stephen Terry
  • Matt Christmas
  • Claude Bosi
  • Graham Hornigold
  • Julie Sharp
  • Stefan Karlsson
  • Ollie Dabbous
  • Simon Rogan
  • Nigel Haworth
  • André Garratt
  • Frederick Forster
  • Tom Kerridge

You can get involved with the conversation about this year’s National Chef of the Year by following @Craft_Guild on Twitter, @craftguildofchefs on Instagram and the hashtag #NCOTY.

In Partnership With

Supported By

previous arrow
next arrow